The Book Society is a club for professionals in the book trade, publishers, booksellers, literary agents, librarians and authors. All members are welcome to propose new candidates for future election to the Society.

The Book Society meets up to eight times a year. At each dinner a speaker is invited to address the Society. The Society’s purpose is to encourage contacts and understanding between the various elements that make up the book trade.

The annual membership fee for 2022 is £55.00.

To pay your membership, please log in and go to MY ACCOUNT.

Any queries, please contact the administrator Jo Dawson.

Members will be alerted by email when booking for each dinner is open.

Next Event

6.5.2022: Bookings now OPEN for our next event on Thursday 9th June 2022 – The President’s Summer Party

To book for this event, members need to be up to date with membership subscriptions (log in and go to MY ACCOUNT).

Log in here and go to EVENTS to book tickets (up to 3 per member @£45.00 per head).


The Committee

Chair: Michael Bhaskar

Vice-Chair: Jamie Hodder-Williams

Hon Secretary: Emma Lowe

Hon Treasurer: James Long

Executive Committee: Tim Dare, Meryl Halls, Jacqui Graham, Justine Solomons, Cathryn Summerhayes and David Taylor

President: Richard Charkin

Administrator: Jo Dawson